For years I have been asked by clients how they can automatically delete their Safari browsing history, and for years the only answers that I could give were the following:

  1. When you first open Safari, remember to go to File>New Private Window. (No one remembers to do this 100% of the time.)
  2. Remember to clear your browsing history when you close Safari. (Almost no one remembers to do this, and it’s inconvenient.)
  3. Go into safari code and change some options. (Not at all easy for the basic user.)

So I performed a simple Google search this morning to see if there have been any changes since the last 2 MacOs releases in Safari, and maybe I missed it before, maybe it’s always been there, but it looks like since the release of MacOs Sierra, and option in the general menu has appeared under Safari Preferences>General which is “Safari Opens With>A new private window”.

Now, the title of this blog post is misleading, yes, but I did that on purpose, because this solution is essentially the same solution as that search term. In other words, if you set the option to “Safari Opens With>A New Private Window”, you will always be surfing in Private mode, and your history will never be tracked. This includes new tabs that are created and opened, because you are already in a private window.

This should solve the Safari Browsing History Auto Delete Issue. Good luck!

Apple Computer Virus Malware Scam Notice.

There are many many scams now days when it comes to the internet. And one that has been rearing it’s head more and more lately is a virus pop up on Apple computers. This virus pop up warning window will show up on iMac, Macbook Pro, Macbook Air, Mac Mini, Mac Pro, and even iPad and iPhones. The pop up in question is really more of a version of ransomeware. It can also be classified as malware.

What is ransomeware? Well, ransomeware looks like a virus. In recent cases, users will be browsing the internet using Safari, Firefox or Google Chrome, and a pop up window or a page will appear that states something along of the lines of “You have a virus! Call this 800 number!” or “Your computer has been locked and your files will be deleted unless you call this number.” Some warnings say “Suspicious activity detected.”

Trust none of these warnings.

And once the pop up is activated, you usually cannot close the window. But don’t call that number!

Here is a great article on the subject.

Never, ever, ever call any phone numbers that pop up on your computer. Whether it says it’s Microsoft support, or Apple support. Unless you know that you purposely went looking for that phone number, never call it.

Also, there are many scams where people are now getting phone calls saying that it’s Apple support or Microsoft support, and they can see that your computer is having issues, or that there is suspicious activity, or that you have a virus. This is a total scam.

Never pay anyone for this type of support. In other words, if YOU are being engaged, then it is a scam. And if you’re unsure, just call us here at Cobalt and we will advise you on what to do.

561-623-0533