For years I have been asked by clients how they can automatically delete their Safari browsing history, and for years the only answers that I could give were the following:

  1. When you first open Safari, remember to go to File>New Private Window. (No one remembers to do this 100% of the time.)
  2. Remember to clear your browsing history when you close Safari. (Almost no one remembers to do this, and it’s inconvenient.)
  3. Go into safari code and change some options. (Not at all easy for the basic user.)

So I performed a simple Google search this morning to see if there have been any changes since the last 2 MacOs releases in Safari, and maybe I missed it before, maybe it’s always been there, but it looks like since the release of MacOs Sierra, and option in the general menu has appeared under Safari Preferences>General which is “Safari Opens With>A new private window”.

Now, the title of this blog post is misleading, yes, but I did that on purpose, because this solution is essentially the same solution as that search term. In other words, if you set the option to “Safari Opens With>A New Private Window”, you will always be surfing in Private mode, and your history will never be tracked. This includes new tabs that are created and opened, because you are already in a private window.

This should solve the Safari Browsing History Auto Delete Issue. Good luck!